Ba

(Photo by hdptcar via Flickr)

“Nye in tashi ni indwe ohe
Indwebo
Injole, kaa ba fee noko
Ba.”
Yesterday, I sat and thought of you
Of you
my dear, do not come to do anything
Just come.

BA

Kaa ba keemi

Ba tsoomi

Shi ole noko,

kaa ba tsoomi

Nye in tashi ni indwe ohe

Indwebo

Injole, kaa ba fee noko

Ba.

COME

Don’t come to tell me

Come to show me.

But you know what,

Don’t come to show me.

Yesterday, I sat and thought of you

Of you

my dear, do not come to do anything

Just come.

*Ba is a poem written in Ga, a language spoken by the Ga people of the Greater Accra region in Ghana.

Written and Translated By: Kristin Wilson

Leave a Reply

